WOW it really does work

This area is for Sleep Apnea questions and general Sleep Apnea Discussions.

WOW it really does work

Postby jenn1270 » Sun Feb 05, 2012 12:43 am

CPAP really does work. I've had it a week and today was the first Saturday in years that I didn't need a 3 hour nap and felt rested all day.

I was in denial that something was wrong. My husband who has used CPAP for years started complaining that I was talking, moaning, and groaning in my sleep. My parents even said they heard it a few times when we visited (and they were 3 rooms away). I never snored so when my husband suggested I had sleep apnea I laughed at him...I thought "I am a physician and I've never heard of sleep talking and OSA without snoring" To humor him, I made an appointment in the sleep clinic and my doctor suggested a sleep study. I still thought he and my husband were nuts but went ahead. The tech woke me up the next morning and told me they had to turn the speaker down in the intercom because I was talking, moaning and groaning so much. My doctor came by and told me that I had severe sleep apnea I was able to get in two days later for a CPAP trial. Got my machine the next day (last friday). Got a smaller mask after the weekend and have slept great this week and haven't been yawning all afternoon.

I truly do feel better after just 1 week and look forward to feeling better and better. I'm so glad to read that others have gone through the same thing and are doing what they need to to keep healthy. Now I just need to lose some weight.

Jenn
jenn1270

Machine: PR System One Auto CPAP
Mask: ComfortGel Blue
Humidifier: PR System One
Year Diagnosed: 2012

Re: WOW it really does work

Postby Vicki » Sun Feb 05, 2012 2:12 am

Hi Jenn and welcome to the hose head club!!