I'm a side and back sleeper

This area is for CPAP Mask and CPAP Machine Related Questions used in the treatment of Sleep Apnea.

I'm a side and back sleeper

Postby Linda Sue » Mon Aug 29, 2011 1:53 pm

I am new to using a cpap machine and I am finding it quite aggravating. The first week went surprisingly well, but now my mask (Quattro FX) is giving me all these air leaks and my headaches have become monsterous. I try to tighten the mask, but that makes it even more annoying because it is squeezing my cheeks, but it's the only thing that will stop the leaks. I have gotten to the point where halfway through the night I have to take it off because I can't get the leaks to stop and my head is hurting too badly to keep fighting with the mask. I tried to talk to my DME provider and they kept acting like something I was doing was the problem, but I do everything they tell me. I try to keep the mask loose at first but once the air leaks are never ending I have to tighten the mask. I pull my hair up, and I rinse my mask in warm soapy water everyday (as advised) I hope that just changing my mask will help.

I was reading through the forums and I saw that the Breeze was good for side sleeping, but what about back sleeping? The back headpiece looks like it could be painful if you tried to sleep on your back. Is there a mask that is good for side and back sleeping?

Thanks for whatever guidence you can give me!
Linda Sue

Machine: Not sure
Mask: Quatro Full Face
Humidifier: built in
Year Diagnosed: 2011

Re: I'm a side and back sleeper

Postby Janknitz » Mon Aug 29, 2011 8:54 pm

The Quattro FX has an AIR cushion. To seal properly, that air cushion must be fully inflated. The more you tighten it down to stop leaks, the worse the leaks get. It's a natural response to tighten the mask when leaking, but it doesn't work. Instead, try the following: