• Site Supporter

surgery to enlarge nasal passages?

This area is for Sleep Apnea questions and general Sleep Apnea Discussions.

surgery to enlarge nasal passages?

Postby jscholz » Mon Aug 15, 2011 10:53 pm

I'm 44 and I have severe OSA and I've been using a cpap for nearly 2 years and its not a problem. For convenience and not having to use the cpap, I am considering surgery if it will reduce the OSA significantly and for an extended number of years.

I've been told that my snoring, which has been happening since I was a kid, is likely the result of very small passages from my sinuses. Anyone with experience in having your sinus passages enlarged who can give me feedback?

Thanks.
jscholz

Re: surgery to enlarge nasal passages?

Postby Dirtysuka » Tue Aug 16, 2011 2:33 pm

I'M AN RT FOR 10YRS AND CPAP USER FOR 8YRS. SURGERY IS NOT THE ANSWER. CONSULT AN ENT DR. FIRST. PRO'S AND CONS WITH SURGERY. SOME SAY SCAR TISSUE FORMS AND ACTS LIKE THE SOFT TISSUE DID IN OBSTRUCTION NOT TO MENTION IT'S A VERY PAINFUL AFTERMATH. ALTHOUGH A NEIGHBOR OF MINE WHO IS AN EYE DR HAD SOFT PALATTE SURGERY DUE TO APNEA AND HE SAID HE SLEEPS FINE NOW, BUT WHO KNOWS. THERE IS ALSO A NEW STUDY THAT YOU CAN GOOGLE. IT'S CALLED STAR STIMULATION THERAPY FOR APNEA REDUCTION. THEY PERFORM SURGERY AND INSTALL A DEVICE THAT SENDS LOW VOLTAGE TO YOUR HYPOGALMOUS NERVE NEAR YOUR TOUNGE AND IT KEEPS THE AIRWAY OPEN WITH EVERY BREATH. THE UNIT CAN BE TURNED ON AND OFF REMOTELY. IT'S IN THE TRIAL STAGES, BUT KEEP UP WITH THE CPAP THERAPY. CPAP THERAPY IS THE MOST SUCCESSFUL AND NON INVASIVE WAY TO PREVENT APNEA, NOT CURE IT. CONSULT YOUR DR'S AND SEE HOW SEVERE YOUR APNEA IS. AN ENT WILL TELL YOU IF YOU HAVE A DEVIATED SEPTUM AND ENLARGED TISSUE AND TOUNGE. GOOD LUCK.
Dirtysuka

Machine: respironics PR550 auto cpap
Mask: swift fx med pillows
Humidifier: PR
Year Diagnosed: 2004

Postby jscholz » Tue Aug 16, 2011 3:42 pm

Thank you.
jscholz

Postby Dirtysuka » Tue Aug 16, 2011 4:57 pm

No prob