• Site Supporter

rosacea and mask irritation

This area is for Sleep Apnea questions and general Sleep Apnea Discussions.

rosacea and mask irritation

Postby dafinn » Fri Aug 19, 2005 5:44 pm

I have been using my CPAP machine and a full face mask for about 3 months. I have a facial skin condition called rosacea and am using a topical ointment called Metro Gel daily for treating it. I have developed a red irritation on the bony part of the bridge of my nose and I think it's more related to having the rosacea than from just the irritation caused by the pressure of the upper part of the mask on the bridge of my nose. Has anyone else had to deal with this problem and what might I be experiencing that may not at all be related to the rosacea?
dafinn

Postby lynn543 » Fri Aug 19, 2005 5:52 pm

irritated skin and red marks are common from the masks, so are small airleaks
you may be better with a mask that has 2 prongs that stick into your nostrils, and a chinstrap to keep your mouth closed, theres info about rosacea on the net

I was lucky and originally got a mask that fitted well and have used the same type of mask for 6 years, but often several masks need to be tried before finding 1 that you like and can live with

its important to be fitted by someone who does know what they a re doing, is patient and friendly and has a wide range of masks from different makers available

you dont need to use a mask from the company that made your CPAP

its said that the newer masks are now much better generally than the older ones
lynn543

Roscea and Strap Irritation

Postby semicolon » Sat Aug 20, 2005 9:47 pm

I have just started using CPAP with the Swift Nasal Pillows. I'm doing pretty well with the treatment, however, where the strap comes around my cheeks to attach to the nasal unit, it rubs and I have gotten those deep, pimple like sores on both cheeks beside my nose.