• Site Supporter

Sleep Apnea and the Military

This area is for Sleep Apnea questions and general Sleep Apnea Discussions.

Re: Sleep Apnea and the Military

Postby Jimr2010 » Sun Mar 17, 2013 7:48 pm

Thanks for the response. At this point, I want out. I don't have the strength to fight or advocate for myself. If they kick me out with no benefits I won't complain. I want to stay alive for my family. I'm mentally worn out. I hate who I am, the way I look, I'm just a "lazy fat body."
Jimr2010

Re: Sleep apnea in the military

Postby doc904 » Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:23 pm

Guest wrote:I'm a soldier in the U.S. Army. I had convulsions like symptons about a year ago. I had a sleep study about 10 months ago. They lost my results. So now I'm deploying to Iraq Shortly. I also have Acid Reflux. I wake up with headaches, snore tired all the time, bad memory,Etc... After I eat I have trouble breatheing. My unit Doctor told me it is't serious. How true is it and how long to you have to sleep apnea for it to be serious, or can you wait another year to maybe fix it????

Unless your trying to find a way out of deployment to Irag which is my understanding that there are no longer any troops in Irag. Sleep apnea can cause acid reflux and other problems which are serious, you can die in your sleep from sleep apnea, it won't get better in a year unless the reason you have it is because of obesity and you loose the weight. Find another military doctor and keep looking until you find the one who will listen to you or they end up boarding you out of the military, you can't be deployed to a combat zone if you have sleep apnea.

Doc904
doc904

Re: Sleep apnea in the military

Postby DreamDiver » Sat Jul 20, 2013 7:35 am

doc904 wrote:
Guest [Postby Guest » Tue Nov 08, 2005 9:04 pm] wrote:I'm a soldier in the U.S. Army. I had convulsions like symptons about a year ago. ...

...there are no longer any troops in Irag...