Effect of Sleep Apnea on Type 2 Diabetes

This area is for Sleep Apnea questions and general Sleep Apnea Discussions.

Plavix & Losec

Postby Ramboaus » Thu Dec 03, 2009 7:48 pm

I have been battling high fasting blood sugar levels for a few years now and have not been able to bring it down. Even 40 Units of Lantus did not help.

I always blamed it on my sleep apnea and adrenalin dumps and leaky masks that rendered the sleep therapy useless..

Just a few days ago, I was having a tete a tete with my young nephew who is a doctor and was asking him all sorts of questions about my health especially high fasting bsl and bloated stomachs..

Plavix & Losec

As we know, many sleep apnea sufferers develop hypertension and diabetes over the years and as we age and with obesity we also have gastro problems like constipation, gas and bloated stomachs.

Plavix is commonly prescribed by cardiologists to prevent blood clots and losec is most commonly prescribed drug for hyper acidity.

I have been on both since my stroke in 2000. that is ten long years..

Now it has been established by Canadian researchers that Losec interacts and counters and negates the action of Plavix, which is to prevent the heart throwing up blood clots.. It has been established that a considerable percentage of the populations studied have had heart attacks (Mio cardial infarctions) despite taking Plavix.

I have gone off Losec totally the minute I heard about this a week ago and something amazing has happened. My fasting blood sugars have dropped to below 7.0. It has been howering around between 8 and 10 and I always blamed my sleep apnea for it.

I am beginning to wonder if my bsl was affected by plavix and losec fighting each other as I took them both at the same time before going to bed.