• Site Supporter

on oxygen; blue above upper lip; blue on lower lip

This area is for Sleep Apnea questions and general Sleep Apnea Discussions.

on oxygen; blue above upper lip; blue on lower lip

Postby newone » Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:55 am

hello all,

I have started on oxygen at night approximately 9/18/12. Today I see I have some blue on my lower lip. I can tell my skin above my upper lip is slightly blue, and that has been going on since starting oxygen. Some days I am extremely tired since starting oxygen and have slept a lot during the day. Somedays, I don't need a nap at all :) but that is pretty rare. My legs, hands, ankles and feet have mild swelling for approximately 8 weeks. I think I need to get to the bottom of what is causing the swelling. I am now getting really worried about the blueness.

I did a Zumba class a couple of days ago. Then I did weight lifting. After returning home, I felt ok, but tested my oxygen and found it to be 80, then it climbed up to 88. I took a nap, and oxygen was ok after that . Respiratory therapist came by later and said it can happen that oxygen levels go down after exercising. It seems my oxygen levels jump around at times.

Has anyone else experienced the blueness, and have any idea what it means?

Thank you very much.
newone

Re: on oxygen; blue above upper lip; blue on lower lip

Postby Bons » Fri Oct 19, 2012 12:12 pm

Blue lips is often a sign of poor oxygenation. CALL YOUR DOCTOR. Get pulmonary and cardiac consultations.
PR bipap auto sv advanced
Fisher and Paykel flexifit 431
Bons

Mask: fx for her nasal mask

Postby newone » Sat Oct 20, 2012 12:28 am