Help - CPAP = Severe low back pain

This area is for CPAP Mask and CPAP Machine Related Questions used in the treatment of Sleep Apnea.

• Site Supporter

Help - CPAP = Severe low back pain

Postby bossman284 » Wed Mar 21, 2012 2:18 pm

I have been using a CPAP machine since October 2011. Within the last two months I have developed severe lower back pain that starts around 4AM and wakes me up to the point where I cannot get back to sleep.

Before the machine I slept either on my side or stomach and now it's exclusively on my back. I assumed my back pain was due to my new position and have tried the pill under my knees but that hasen't helped.

My Apnea is severe and my pressure level is 14. Because of the higher pressure I feel like the only way to get a good seal on my full face mask is to make the straps very tight. This got me thinking... could my back pain be because of the mask being too tight? Is the tight strap across the back of my neck causing my back pain? Is the tightness of the mask keeping my mouth closed akin to cleenching my teeth causing me pain? I am at my breaking point, the pain is so severe it is slowly driving me insane. I've had an MRI and there is nothing wrong with my back. I'm in physical therapy for a possible back sprain and it is doing nothing. Advil sort of helps...but how much advil can you take.

I've read threads about CPAP and back pain here but the seem to talk about upper to mid back pain.

Can anyone shed some light on this for me before I lose my mind!
bossman284

Year Diagnosed: 2011

Re: Help - CPAP = Severe low back pain

Postby Todzo » Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:34 pm

bossman284 wrote:I have been using a CPAP machine since October 2011. Within the last two months I have developed severe lower back pain that starts around 4AM and wakes me up to the point where I cannot get back to sleep.