• Site Supporter

Dry mouth Mask

This area is for CPAP Mask and CPAP Machine Related Questions used in the treatment of Sleep Apnea.

Dry mouth Mask

Postby smghou » Thu Oct 18, 2012 6:18 pm

I have been using cpap for around 4 years now. In Jan. I had cancer Surgery to my sinus area, followed by radiation therapy and was unable to use my mask up till now. Beacuse of the radiation I have lost my saliva and have extreme dry mouth and wake every few minutes to get a drink. My Dr. says that the cpap machine may help me sleep because of the humidity. The mask I use now is the opus pillow, machine S9 Elite. My problem is after 20 minutes or so my nose clogs up so I have to breath through my mouth. I need a mask that will work with nose or mouth breathing. I am a side sleeper. Any input as to a good mask would help.
smghou

Machine: resmed s9 Elite = H5i
Mask: Opus Nasal pillow mask
Humidifier: yes
Year Diagnosed: 2008

Re: Dry mouth Mask

Postby trebons » Thu Oct 18, 2012 7:04 pm

smghou wrote:My problem is after 20 minutes or so my nose clogs up so I have to breath through my mouth. I need a mask that will work with nose or mouth breathing. I am a side sleeper. Any input as to a good mask would help.

try sinus rinse. you may need a full face mask cover nose and mouth
Quattro Fx is popular but you need to try and find out for yourself. everyone is different
trebons

Machine: S9 AutoSet
Mask: Nasal

Postby smghou » Thu Oct 18, 2012 10:51 pm

I have been using NeilMed solution since Feb. The problem is from the surgery and radiation therapy. I am going to try some masks tomorrow and was looking for some suggestions. I will give yours a try.
smghou

Machine: resmed s9 Elite = H5i
Mask: Opus Nasal pillow mask
Humidifier: yes
Year Diagnosed: 2008

Postby pamsyflower1 » Tue Oct 23, 2012 2:29 pm