CPAP and Rosacea?

This area is for Sleep Apnea questions and general Sleep Apnea Discussions.

CPAP and Rosacea?

Postby EnglishEric » Thu Aug 28, 2008 6:07 pm

Hi Everyone, I wonder if this rings a bell with anyone? I have been using CPAP since June 2006 with great success for the sleep apnea but coincidentally within 3 months of starting to use the mask on a regular basis I developed pretty full blown Rosacea (persistent red face, particularly the nose) I saw a private consultant dermatologist who diagnosed the condition but would not guess at the cause. I have still got it nearly two years later and it is not only unsightly but also uncomfortably hot (flushed). I know it has to do with the facial blood vessels and it is a fact that my red nose has the exact outline of my nasal mask - hence the question. I manage to wear the mask on average about 7 hours a night and of course the whole exterior of my nose takes a beating from the air pressure but is this is all conjecture on my part? Has anyone else had this particular problem and were they able to deal with it. English Eric
EnglishEric

Re: CPAP and Rosacea?

Postby Todzo » Sun Aug 31, 2008 4:17 am