CAN´T BREATH

This area is for Sleep Apnea questions and general Sleep Apnea Discussions.

• Site Supporter

CAN´T BREATH

Postby jan157 » Tue Jun 19, 2012 6:22 am

Can anyone help? I am new to all this and have just been given my first machine. I am a brit but, live in Spain I have been told that I have servere Apnea. I am a 44 year old woman. The problem I have is that I was told to introduce myself to the machine in the day so, 30 mins then, 45 one hour etc for one week. now I am to use it at night but, when I get into bed with the nose mask on I feel that I can not breath and it freaks me out so much that I have to take it off! Has anyone else had this problem and how did you deal with it?
jan157

Machine: remstar
Mask: full nose
Humidifier: no
Year Diagnosed: 2012

Re: CAN´T BREATH

Postby Bons » Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:20 pm

Welcome to the forum.

It would help us to help you if you would tell us what the pressure setting is for your cpap and whether or not you have the cflex turned on. The cflex reduces the pressure somewhat as you exhale; many people find that turning the cflex to its highest setting helps eliminate that suffocating feeling.

The problem is most likely psychological unless you have a pretty high pressure. It is very common to have a problem like yours. One way to deal with it is to use the machine in another room of your house, such as while you are reading or watching the telly, or listening to relaxing music. This way you learn that you can and will breathe perfectly fine.

When you have it on in bed, try using relaxation techniques. Some people pray or use a mantra; I sing hymns in my head. Some use biofeedback and work on relaxing one muscle at a time. Become one with your pap - deep breaths, slow breaths. Remind yourself that the machine is a GOOD thing and your are fortunate to have it. Using it is good for you, good for your body.