Bad bipap mach side effects need ideas on what to do next

This area is for Sleep Apnea questions and general Sleep Apnea Discussions.

Postby mgej » Mon Jun 16, 2008 6:53 pm

I am sorry this posting is so long. I am earnestly seeking solutions to the problem I described below.
This is my first time using a forum. I know very little on the topic of Sleep apnea. My sleep doctor only gives extremely fast answers when I ask a question and 90% of the time I do not know what to ask next after he gives me a fast answer. I am trying very hard not to become hopeless.

Here’s my problem: I’ve had really bad side effects from using the bipap machine. I hope to get ideas on what I should do next.

History - I am a person in my 40s
Late 2006 I was diagnosed with severe obstructive sleep apnea. I was told that I stop breathing over 300 times during the night and that my brain waves indicated that I was in pain during the night (Due to being rear-ended in my car 3xs I’ve develop chronic back pain).

I received my first sleep aide machine early 2007. It was a cpap machine. It did not work. Around June that year, I switched to a bipap machine. During that time I had very bad experiences with the masks that were prescribed for me. I kept getting bruises on the bridge of my nose and irritation to the point of redness. I tried to train myself to keep my mouth shut while I slept so I could use the pillow nose mask. It did not work. So I did my own research and found a mask that looked like it would work for me. The mask did work for me. I received that mask on May 15, 2008. (No I do not have the dates wrong. It took that long to find the right mask.)

I was very excited and hopeful. My excitement and hope got dashed as I used the machine consistently.

Here are the adverse symptoms i.e. side effects